Tags

, , , , ,

In our last post, Austin made a connection between Barthian transcendence and Lyotard’s notion of the Unpresentable. In the comments section, Dan mulled on a topic that has been increasingly on my mind as well:

I wonder how the addition of Lacan’s and Zizek’s notion that our experiences of the Real (which resists representation, and which loses its ‘reality’ once it is represented) are traumatic might add to the trajectory of thought… Is our encounter with God (who would be that which is most fully Real) that truly traumatic encounter which we then attempt to flee from or contain within the symbolic?

I do believe the Lacanian symptom Dan speaks of well represents the plight of the Old covenant. The tension between the ‘prophets’ and the ‘powers’ is that of God’s freedom to interrupt the symbolic realm humans set up in order to resist the transcendent.

However, I am wary of speaking of ‘The Real’ in the psychoanalytic terms that Lacan uses. The ‘encounter with the Real’ sounds too neo-orthodox (in the negative sense) for me. God’s freedom explains itself through the gospel event (the pure event… and I do like Badiou’s terminology).

Obviously, I still have a lot to work through here. I am very interested to hear other’s thoughts on the matter.

